The Kenya National women’s volleyball team head coach Paul Bitok has  trimmed his provisional squad to 14 players ahead of the upcoming Tokyo Olympic games.

The tactician dropped outside attacker Pamela Adhiambo and setter Emmaculate Nekesa ahead of Kenya’s come back to the Olympics after a 16 years absence  since 2004,Athens. He urged the youngster’s Nekesa and Adhiambo not to give up but continue working hard.

“The effort and commitment you put  has showed that you have a great potential and a promising future in your volleyball career. If you maintain these standards, you will be among the best in the near future and I wish you all the best,” Head Coach Paul Bitok.

Malkia strikers entered the third phase of training at the Kasarani indoor arena as Bitok commended the players who made it to the 14-member team and also thanked his fellow coaches led by Luizomar De Moura from Brazil for their great training sessions and the new skills they have impacted to the team.

The Malkia Strikers will  leave for Kurume city in Japan on the 5th of July for the final phase where the team will train for another two weeks.

Kenya will face Japan, Serbia, Brazil, South Korea and the Dominican Republic in pool “A” at the Tokyo Olympics.

Malkia Strikers squad

Noel murambi, Mercy Moim, Leonida Kasaya, Pamela Jepkurui, Sharon Chepchumba, Emmaculate Chemutai, Violet Makuto, Joy Lusenaka, Jane Wacu, Agripina kundu, Elizabeth Wanyama, Edith Wisa, Gladys Ekaru and Lorine Chebet.

The teams representing Kenya in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics are scheduled to start checking into the Moi International Sports Center for a Bubble camp at Kasarani starting today, 21st June 2021 to 23rd June 2021.

Meanwhile, Olympics Kenya representatives are tasked to closely monitor the athletes as they get tested for Covid-19. The Tae Kwondo team will follow suit on Tuesday, and finally athletics and rugby men.

Following the national try-outs that came to an end on Saturday, team Kenya is set to reside in the camp at Kasarani up until they leave for Tokyo on the 23rd of July.